Board of Directors

The Board shall manage the Association’s affairs in its sole and absolute discretion. Without limiting the foregoing, the Board: (i) may invite Members and other individuals to participate in its discussions in an advisory capacity (but not vote) at any meeting; (ii) shall receive and approve the reports of all Divisions, Committees, and Taskforces (defined below) as requested by the Board; and (iii) will, prior to presentation at the business meeting, review and approve the report of the activities of the Divisions and Committees, as deemed necessary by the Board.

The Board shall consist of twelve (12) individuals, and will include: (i) the Association’s officers: President, President-Elect, Secretary, Treasurer,  and Immediate Past-President (“Officer-Directors”); and (ii) seven (7) directors-at-large (“At-Large Directors”), comprising the six (6) Division Chairs (defined below), at least one (1) Senior member. The Officer-Directors and At-Large Directors shall be collectively referred to herein as “Directors.”  The number of Directors may be decreased to no fewer than three (3) or increased to any number from time to time by amendment of this section.  No decrease shall have the effect of shortening the term of an incumbent Director.

In order to enhance the Board’s ability to manage the Association’s affairs, the Association’s operational activities that are not conducted by the standing committees shall be divided among divisions (“Divisions”).  The Divisions are chaired by a Director-at-Large and shall include:

(A)       Division of Education;
(B)       Division of Member Services;
(C)       Division of Patient Care and Resources;
(D)       Division of Professional Development;
(E)       Division of Publications; and
(F)       Division of Research. 

Committee Chairs included in the Board list are individuals chairing the various committees within the six divisions of EAST.  Committee Chairs do not serve on the board nor do they vote.



Andrew C. Bernard, MDAndrew C. Bernard, MD, President
Univ of Kentucky College of Medicine in Lexington, KY
Term ends 01/19/2019
Elliott R. Haut, MD, PhD, FACSElliott R. Haut, MD, PhD, FACS, President-Elect
The Johns Hopkins Hospital in Baltimore, MD
Term ends 01/19/2019
Bruce A. Crookes, MD, FACSBruce A. Crookes, MD, FACS, Immediate Past President
Medical University of South Carolina in Charleston, SC
Term ends 01/19/2019
William C. Chiu, MD, FACS, FCCMWilliam C. Chiu, MD, FACS, FCCM, Director-at-Large
Univ. of Maryland School of Medicine in Baltimore, MD
Term ends 01/19/2019
Jeffrey A. Claridge, MD, MS, FACSJeffrey A. Claridge, MD, MS, FACS, Director-at-Large
MetroHealth Medical Center in Cleveland, OH
Term ends 01/19/2019
Matthew J. Martin, MD, FACSMatthew J. Martin, MD, FACS, Director-at-Large
Madigan Army Medical Center in Olympia, WA
Term ends 01/18/2020
Mayur B. Patel, MD, MPH, FACSMayur B. Patel, MD, MPH, FACS, Director-at-Large
Vanderbilt University Medical Ctr in Nashville, TN
Term ends 01/18/2020
Mark J. Seamon, MD, FACSMark J. Seamon, MD, FACS, Director-at-Large
Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia, PA
Term ends 01/18/2020
Jason W. Smith, MD, PhD, FACSJason W. Smith, MD, PhD, FACS, Director-at-Large
University of Louisville in Louisville, KY
Term ends 01/19/2019
Alison M. Wilson, MD, FACSAlison M. Wilson, MD, FACS, Director-at-Large
West Virginia University in Morgantown, WV
Term ends 01/16/2021
A. Britton Christmas, MD, FACSA. Britton Christmas, MD, FACS, Treasurer
Carolinas Medical Center in Charlotte, NC
Term ends 01/19/2019
Deborah M. Stein, MD, MPH, FACS, FCCMDeborah M. Stein, MD, MPH, FACS, FCCM, Secretary
R Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Ctr in Baltimore, MD
Term ends 01/16/2021
Daniel J. Bonville, DO, FACSDaniel J. Bonville, DO, FACS, Committee Chair
The Houston Methodist Medical Hospital in Houston, TX
Term ends 01/19/2019
John J. Como, MD, MPHJohn J. Como, MD, MPH, Committee Chair
MetroHealth Medical Center in Cleveland, OH
Term ends 01/16/2021
Brad Dennis, MD, FACSBrad Dennis, MD, FACS, Committee Chair
Vanderbilt University Medical Center in Nashville, TN
Term ends 01/16/2021
Alexander L. Eastman, MD, MPH, FACSAlexander L. Eastman, MD, MPH, FACS, Committee Chair
UT Southwestern/Parkland Memorial Hospital in Dallas, TX
Term ends 01/16/2021
Paula Ferrada, MD, FACSPaula Ferrada, MD, FACS, Committee Chair
Virginia Commonwealth University in Richmond, VA
Term ends 01/18/2020
Daniel J. Grabo, MD, FACSDaniel J. Grabo, MD, FACS, Committee Chair
West Virginia University in Morgantown, WV
Term ends 01/19/2019
David S. Morris, MD, FACSDavid S. Morris, MD, FACS, Committee Chair
Intermountain Medical Center in Murray, UT
Term ends 01/18/2020
Jeffry Nahmias, MD, MHPE, FACSJeffry Nahmias, MD, MHPE, FACS, Committee Chair
UC Irvine in ,
Term ends 01/16/2021
Jose L. Pascual, MD, PhD, FRCS(C), FACS, FCCMJose L. Pascual, MD, PhD, FRCS(C), FACS, FCCM, Committee Chair
Penn Presbyterian Medical Center in Philadelphia, PA
Term ends 09/30/2018
Joseph V. Sakran, MD, MPH, MPA, FACSJoseph V. Sakran, MD, MPH, MPA, FACS, Committee Chair
Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore, MD
Term ends 01/16/2021
Babak Sarani, MD, FACS, FCCMBabak Sarani, MD, FACS, FCCM, Committee Chair
George Washington University in Washington, DC
Term ends 01/16/2021
Robert D. Winfield, MD, FACSRobert D. Winfield, MD, FACS, Committee Chair
University of Kansas Medical Center in Kansas City, KS
Term ends 01/19/2019
D. Dante   Yeh, MD, FACSD. Dante Yeh, MD, FACS, Committee Chair
Ryder Trauma Center in Miami, FL
Term ends 01/18/2020

Return to rosters

Eastern Association for the Surgery of Trauma

633 N. Saint Clair Street, Suite 2400 Chicago, IL 60611-3295 (312) 202-5508 phone (312) 202-5064 fax
Stay connected to EAST
Support EAST
  • AmazonSmiel