Research-Scholarship Committee

The Research-Scholarship Committee is responsible for reviewing applications and selecting the recipients of the Trauma Research Scholarship and John M. Templeton, Jr., MD Injury Prevention Research Scholarship.  The committee works closely with the EAST Development Committee in managing existing scholarships as well as identifying and developing new scholarship opportunities. This committee is also responsible for reviewing requests to survey the EAST membership for research related purposes.

Committee members are appointed by the President with approval by the Board of Directors.  Committee member terms are three years.  All terms begin in January and conclude in January in the year specificed in "term ends".


Robert D. Winfield, MD, FACSRobert D. Winfield, MD, FACS, Chair
University of Kansas Medical Center in Kansas City, KS
Term ends 01/19/2019
Cherisse Berry, MDCherisse Berry, MD, Committee Member
New York University School of Medicine in New York, NY
Term ends 01/16/2021
Matthew  J. Bradley, MDMatthew J. Bradley, MD, Committee Member
U.S. Navy in Silver Spring, MD
Term ends 01/18/2020
Joshua B. Brown, MD, MScJoshua B. Brown, MD, MSc, Committee Member
University of Pittsburgh in Pittsburgh, PA
Term ends 01/16/2021
Michael W. Cripps, MD, FACSMichael W. Cripps, MD, FACS, Committee Member
UT Southwestern/Parkland in Dallas, TX
Term ends 01/19/2019
Stephen C. Gale, MDStephen C. Gale, MD, Committee Member
East Texas Medical Center in Tyler, TX
Term ends 01/18/2020
John A. Harvin, MDJohn A. Harvin, MD, Committee Member
University of Texas Health Science Center Houston in Houston, TX
Term ends 01/18/2020
Daniel N. Holena, MD MSCEDaniel N. Holena, MD MSCE, Committee Member
University of Pennsylvania Health System in Philadelphia, PA
Term ends 01/19/2019
Jose L. Pascual, MD, PhD, FRCS(C), FACS, FCCMJose L. Pascual, MD, PhD, FRCS(C), FACS, FCCM, Committee Member
University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia, PA
Term ends 01/16/2021
Ben L. Zarzaur, MD, MPH, FACSBen L. Zarzaur, MD, MPH, FACS, Committee Member
Indiana University School of Medicine in Indianapolis, IN
Term ends 01/18/2020
Jason W. Smith, MD, PhD, FACSJason W. Smith, MD, PhD, FACS, Ex Officio
University of Louisville in Louisville, KY
Term ends 01/19/2019
Tanya L. Zakrison, MD, MPH, FRCSC, FACSTanya L. Zakrison, MD, MPH, FRCSC, FACS, Ex Officio
Miller School of Medicine in Miami, FL
Term ends 01/19/2019

Return to rosters

Eastern Association for the Surgery of Trauma

633 N. Saint Clair Street, Suite 2400 Chicago, IL 60611-3295 (312) 202-5508 phone (312) 202-5064 fax
Stay connected to EAST
Support EAST
  • AmazonSmiel