Minimally Invasive Surgery and Emerging Technologies Committee

The Minimally Invasive Surgery and Emerging Technologies Committee (MISET) was approved by the EAST Board of Directors on October 6, 2020. The committee is charged with advancing awareness in advanced laparoscopy, robotic assisted surgery, and emerging technologies and to promote training and fellowship opportunities in minimally invasive surgery and emerging technologies within trauma/acute care surgery.    The committee operated as an ad hoc task force from May 1, 2019, January 16, 2021.   

Committee members are appointed by the President with approval by the Board of Directors.  Committee member terms are three years. All terms begin in January and conclude in January in the year specified in "term ends".


Andrea Pakula, MD, MPH, FACSAndrea Pakula, MD, MPH, FACS, Committee Chair
Adventist Health Simi Valley in ,
Term ends 01/21/2023
Ankur P Bhakta, DOAnkur P Bhakta, DO, Committee Member
Ascension Seton Williamson in ,
Term ends 01/13/2024
Jaime Cesar  Giraldo Arango, MD, FACSJaime Cesar Giraldo Arango, MD, FACS, Committee Member
Wilmington Hospital. Christiana Care in Wilmington, DE
Term ends 01/14/2023
Anirudh Kohli, MDAnirudh Kohli, MD, Committee Member
Thomas Jefferson University Hospital in Philadelphia, PA
Term ends 01/13/2024
Ali F. Mallat, MD, MS, FACSAli F. Mallat, MD, MS, FACS, Committee Member
Cleveland Clinic Akron General in ,
Term ends 01/13/2024
Bhavik  Patel, FRACSBhavik Patel, FRACS, Committee Member
Queensland Health in Gold Coast, QLD
Term ends 01/21/2023
Virginia Pierce, MDVirginia Pierce, MD, Committee Member
UAB in ,
Term ends 01/21/2023
Jason D. Sciarretta, MD, FACSJason D. Sciarretta, MD, FACS, Committee Member
Emory University/Grady Memorial Hospital in Atlanta, GA
Term ends 01/21/2023
Madhu Subramanian, MDMadhu Subramanian, MD, Committee Member
Johns Hopkins Hospital in ,
Term ends 01/13/2024
Heath Walden, MD, FACSHeath Walden, MD, FACS, Committee Member
Danbury Hospital in ,
Term ends 01/21/2023
Scott Welle, DO, FACOS, FACSScott Welle, DO, FACOS, FACS, Committee Member
Valley Acute Care Surgical Specialists in ,
Term ends 01/21/2023
Andrew J. Young, MD, FACSAndrew J. Young, MD, FACS, Committee Member
The Ohio State University in Columbus, OH
Term ends 01/21/2023
D. Dante   Yeh, MD, MHPE, FACS, FCCM, FASPEND. Dante Yeh, MD, MHPE, FACS, FCCM, FASPEN, Ex Officio
Ryder Trauma Center in Miami, FL
Term ends 01/21/2023

Return to rosters