Current Approved Studies

Includes studies that are in the development, enrollment, and/or publication process. Studies can be kept even after initial manuscript publication in the active phase if additional recruitment and/or subsequent publications are ongoing.

Current 2018 Studies


Multicenter Prospective Observational Study of Trauma Patients on Antiplatelet Agents

Principal Investigator & Contact Information:
Brian K. Yorkgitis, DO, FACS
University of Florida- Jacksonville
brian.yorkgitis2@jax.ufl.edu

Study Proposal Materials (.PDF document)

Additional Study Materials (.PDF document)


A Multi-Institutional Cluster Randomized Trial Comparing Standard vs. Extended Venothromboembolic Prophylaxis After Major Trauma

Principal Investigator & Contact Information:
Caleb James Mentzer, DO
University of Texas Health Science Center Houston 
calebmentzer@gmail.com 

Study Proposal Materials (.PDF document)


The Incidence of VTE in Trauma Patients after TXA administration: A Multicenter
Retrospective Study

Principal Investigators & Contact Information:
Babak Sarani, MD
George Washington University 
bsarani@mfa.gwu.edu 
 
Lisbi Rivas, MD
lisbi_rivas15@hotmail.com 

Study Proposal Materials (.PDF document)

Additional Study Materials (.PDF document)


Colorectal resection in Emergency General Surgery – To anastomose, or not to
anastomose?

Principal Investigators & Contact Information:
Brittany O. Aicher, MD
University of Maryland Medical Center
baicher@som.umaryland.edu 
 
Brandon R. Bruns, MD
bbruns@umm.edu 

Study Proposal Materials (.PDF document)

Additional Study Materials (.PDF document)


Prospective, Observational Trial of Blunt Cerebrovascular Injury Management and Stroke Formation

Principal Investigators & Contact Information:
Margaret H Lauerman, MD
University of Maryland
margaret.lauerman@gmail.com 
 
Deborah Stein, MD
dstein@umm.edu 

Study Proposal Materials (.PDF document)

Additional Study Materials (.PDF document)


Establishing the Limits of Aggressive Resuscitation in Patients with Gunshot Wounds to the Brain

Principal Investigator & Contact Information:
Robert D. Winfield, M.D., FACS
University of Kansas Medical Center 
rwinfield@kumc.edu 

Study Proposal Materials (.PDF document)

Additional Study Materials (.PDF document)


The Emergency Surgery Score (ESS): A Prospective Multicenter Validation of ESS as a Tool to Predict Postoperative Mortality and Complications after Emergency General Surgery

Principal Investigator & Contact Information:
Haytham Kaafarani, MD, MPH, FACS 
Massachusetts General Hospital 
hkaafarani@mgh.harvard.edu 

Study Proposal Materials (.PDF document)

Additional Study Materials (.PDF document)


*Optimal resuscitation in pediatric trauma-an EAST multicenter study

*subject enrollment closed

Principal Investigators & Contact Information:
Richard A. Falcone, Jr, MD, MPH
Cincinnati Children's Hospital
Richard.Falcone@cchmc.org 
 
Stephanie Polites MD, MPH & Juan Gurria MD
Polites.Stephanie@mayo.edu 

Study Proposal Materials (.PDF document)

Additional Study Materials (.PDF document)


Optimal Management of Traumatic Esophageal Perforation

Principal Investigators & Contact Information:
Lauren Raff, MD
UNC School of Medicine
Lauren_Raff@med.unc.edu 
 
Patrick L Bosarge, MD
pbosarge@uabmc.edu 

Study Proposal Materials (.PDF document)


Wounding Pattern and Medical Interventions in Survivors of Civilian Public Mass Shooting Events

Principal Investigator & Contact Information:
Babak Sarani, MD
George Washington University 
bsarani@mfa.gwu.edu 

Study Proposal Materials (.PDF document)

Additional Study Materials (.PDF document)


The Time Has Come To Question the ABCs Priorities of Trauma: Circulation First a Multicenter Prospective observational trial

Principal Investigator & Contact Information:
Paula Ferrada, MC, FACS
Virginia Commonwealth University 
paula.ferrada@vcuhealth.org 

Study Proposal Materials (.PDF document)

Additional Study Materials (.PDF document)


Current 2017 Studies


Current Management of Suspected Retained Common Bile Duct Stones in Gallstone Pancreatitis and Choledocholithiasis

Principal Investigators & Contact Information:
Rondi Gelbard, MD
Emory University School of Medicine 
rgelbard@hotmail.com 

Study Proposal Materials (.PDF document)

Additional Study Materials (.PDF document)


Multicenter Collaboration for Simulation-Based Team Training in Pediatric Trauma Resuscitation: Assessment of Baseline Variability in Team Performance

Principal Investigators & Contact Information:
Aaron R. Jensen, MD, Med
Children's Hospital Los Angeles 
arjensenmd@gmail.com 

Study Proposal Materials (.PDF document)

Additional Study Materials (.PDF document)


Can we be FASTeR? A multicenter study utilizing Right sided roll to improve sensitivity of the FAST

Principal Investigators & Contact Information:
Danielle Pigneri, MD
Memorial Regional Hospital
dpigneri@gmail.com 
 
P Jason Granet, MD
granetpj@netscape.net 

Study Proposal Materials (.PDF document)

Additional Study Materials (.PDF document)


Effect of Regional Anesthesia on Delirium in Geriatric Patients After Blunt Thoracic Trauma

Principal Investigators & Contact Information:
Saman Arbabi M.D., M.P.H., F.A.C.S.
Harborview Medical Center 
sarbabi@uw.edu 
 
Kathleen O'Connell MD

University of Washington

katmo@u.washington.edu 

Study Proposal Materials (.PDF document)

Additional Study Materials (.PDF document)


Secondary Brain Infections After Penetrating Brain Injuries

Principal Investigators & Contact Information:
Deborah Stein, MD, MPH
R Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Ctr 
dstein@umm.edu 
 
Laura Harmon, MD

R Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Ctr  

LauraHarmon@umm.edu  

Study Proposal Materials (.PDF document)

Additional Study Materials (.PDF document)


Multicenter prospective observational trial of temporary intravascular shunts for trauma

Principal Investigators & Contact Information:
Mark J. Seamon, MD
Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania 
Mark.Seamon@uphs.upenn.edu
 
Jennifer Leonard, MD

Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania  

Jennifer.Leonard@uphs.upenn.edu 

Study Proposal Materials (.PDF document)

Additional Study Materials (.PDF document)


Appendicitis in North America: a prospective observational study of the demographics, presentation, and outcomes of acute, perforated, and gangrenous appendicitis

Principal Investigators & Contact Information:
Daniel Dante Yeh, MD
Ryder Trauma Center 
dxy154@med.miami.edu 

Study Proposal Materials (.PDF document)

Additional Study Materials (.PDF document)


Current 2016 Studies


*Small Bowel Perforation after Blunt Abdominal Trauma: Diagnosis, Morbidity, and Mortality

*subject enrollment closed, study is in the data analysis stage
Principal Investigators & Contact Information:
Samir M Fakhry M.D. (Senior Investigator)
samfak7@gmail.com 
 
Ahmed Allawi, MD (Co-Investigator)
Medical University of South Carolina 
allawi@musc.edu 

Study Proposal Materials (.PDF document)

Plenary Session - Presentation (.PDF document)


Safety of therapeutic anticoagulation in patients with traumatic brain injury: a multi-center prospective observational study

Principal Investigator & Contact Information:
Kazuhide Matsushima, MD

LAC+USC Medical Center, University of Southern California

kazuhide.matsushima@med.usc.edu

Study Proposal Materials (.PDF document)

Additional Study Materials (.PDF document)

Plenary Session - Presentation (.PDF document)


A Prospective, Randomized Trial of Airway Pressure Release Ventilation in Severely Injured Trauma Patients

Principal Investigator & Contact Information:
Lauren Allan, DO (Senior Investigator)
University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics 
lauren-allan@uiowa.edu
 
Luis Garcia MD FACS
University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics 
luis-garcia@uiowa.edu 

Study Proposal Materials (.PDF document)

Additional Study Materials (.PDF document)

Plenary Session - Presentation (.PDF document)


Reducing Routine Phlebotomy in Stable Liver and Splenic Injuries

Principal Investigator & Contact Information:
Jose Prince, MD
jprince@nshs.edu 

Study Proposal Materials (.PDF document)

Plenary Session - Presentation (.PDF document)


Use of Surgical Fixation for Chest Wall Stabilization in Severe Traumatic Rib Fractures

Principal Investigators & Contact Information:
Amanda Celii, MD 

Oklahoma Health Science Center

Amanda-celii@ouhsc.edu

 
Bryan Mores, MD
Emory

Study Proposal Materials (.PDF document)

Additional Study Materials (.PDF document)

Plenary Session - Presentation (.PDF document)


Mortality Analysis of Trauma Patients Repatriated to Non-Trauma Managed Care Institutions 

Principal Investigator & Contact Information:
John V. Agapian, MD, MS, FACS
University of California, Riverside 
john.agapian@gte.net 

Study Proposal Materials (.PDF document)

Plenary Session - Presentation (.PDF document)


Outcome of suicidal hanging patients and the role of targeted temperature management in hanging-induced cardiac arrest

Principal Investigators & Contact Information:
Deborah Stein, MD (Senior Investigator) & Cindy Hsu, MD, PhD
R Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Ctr 
chsu1012@gmail.com 

Study Proposal Materials (.PDF document)

Additional Study Materials (.PDF document)

MIT Online Portal Access Form (.PDF document)

Plenary Session - Presentation (.PDF document)


Current 2015 Studies


Multi-institutional, Prospective, Observational Study Comparing the Gastrografin Challenge versus Standard Treatment in Adhesive Small Bowel Obstruction

Principal Investigator & Contact Information:
Martin D. Zielinski, MD, FACS
Mayo Clinic 
zielinski.martin@mayo.edu

Epub ahead of print / April 2017

Link: http://journals.lww.com/jtrauma/Abstract/publishahead/Multi_institutional,_prospective,_observational.99130.aspx 

 Study Proposal Materials (.PDF document)

 Updated Study Proposal Materials (.PDF document)

 Plenary Session - Presentation (2015) (.PDF document)

 Plenary Session - Presentation (2016) (.PDF document)


Prospective Multi-Institutional Evaluation of the Management of Cholecystostomy

Principal Investigators & Contact Information:
Nathaniel Poulin, MD
The Brody School of Medicine at ECU 
poulinn@ecu.edu
 
Eric A. Toschlog, MD, FACS, FCCM 
East Carolina University 
toschloge@ecu.edu

Study Proposal Materials (updated, .PDF document)

Additional Study Materials (.PDF document)

Plenary Session - Presentation (.PDF document)


Hemothorax Management and Outcomes in Blunt and Penetrating Trauma

Principal Investigator & Contact Information:
Jeremy W. Cannon, MD, SM, FACS

Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania

jeremy.cannon@uphs.upenn.edu

 

Priya S. Prakash, MD (assisting) 

pprakash@surgery.bsd.uchicago.edu

Study Proposal Materials (.PDF document)

Updated Study Proposal Materials (.PDF document)

Plenary Session - Presentation (.PDF document)

Eastern Association for the Surgery of Trauma

Contact
633 N. Saint Clair Street, Suite 2400 Chicago, IL 60611-3295 (312) 202-5508 phone (312) 202-5064 fax managementoffice@east.org
Stay connected to EAST
Support EAST
  • AmazonSmiel