Completed Studies

Includes studies that have reached completion and have provided EAST information regarding abstract presentation and manuscript acceptance and have corresponded that the study is complete.

All information (e.g. study proposals) are available upon request.


Completed 2018 Studies


The Incidence of VTE in Trauma Patients after TXA administration: A Multicenter
Retrospective Study

Principal Investigators & Contact Information:
Babak Sarani, MD
George Washington University 
bsarani@mfa.gwu.edu 
 
Lisbi Rivas, MD
lisbi_rivas15@hotmail.com 

Completed 2017 Studies


Secondary Brain Infections After Penetrating Brain Injuries

Principal Investigators & Contact Information:
Deborah Stein, MD, MPH
R Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Ctr 
dstein@umm.edu 
 
Laura Harmon, MD

R Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Ctr  

LauraHarmon@umm.edu  

Completed 2016 Studies


Reducing Routine Phlebotomy in Stable Liver and Splenic Injuries

Principal Investigator & Contact Information:
Jose Prince, MD
jprince@nshs.edu 

Safety of therapeutic anticoagulation in patients with traumatic brain injury: a multi-center prospective observational study

Principal Investigator & Contact Information:
Kazuhide Matsushima, MD

LAC+USC Medical Center, University of Southern California

kazuhide.matsushima@med.usc.edu

*Small Bowel Perforation after Blunt Abdominal Trauma: Diagnosis, Morbidity, and Mortality

*subject enrollment closed, study is in the data analysis stage
Principal Investigators & Contact Information:
Samir M Fakhry M.D. (Senior Investigator)
samfak7@gmail.com 
 
Ahmed Allawi, MD (Co-Investigator)
Medical University of South Carolina 
allawi@musc.edu 

Outcome of suicidal hanging patients and the role of targeted temperature management in hanging-induced cardiac arrest

Principal Investigators & Contact Information:
Deborah Stein, MD (Senior Investigator) & Cindy Hsu, MD, PhD
R Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Ctr 
chsu1012@gmail.com 

Completed 2015 Studies


Multi-institutional, Prospective, Observational Study Comparing the Gastrografin Challenge versus Standard Treatment in Adhesive Small Bowel Obstruction

Principal Investigator & Contact Information:
Martin D. Zielinski, MD, FACS
Mayo Clinic 
zielinski.martin@mayo.edu

Epub ahead of print / April 2017

Link: http://journals.lww.com/jtrauma/Abstract/publishahead/Multi_institutional,_prospective,_observational.99130.aspx 


Hemothorax Management and Outcomes in Blunt and Penetrating Trauma

Principal Investigator & Contact Information:
Jeremy W. Cannon, MD, SM, FACS

Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania

jeremy.cannon@uphs.upenn.edu

 

Priya S. Prakash, MD (assisting) 

pprakash@surgery.bsd.uchicago.edu


Use of a Validated Tool to Screen for Interpersonal Violence, Harassment and Discrimination among Surgery Residents

Principal Investigator & Contact Information:
Rondi Gelbard, MD
Emory University School of Medicine 
rgelbar@emory.edu

Outcomes of emergency surgery and trauma cases done at night

Principal Investigator & Contact Information:
Kevin M. Schuster, MD
Yale School of Medicine 
kevin.schuster@yale.edu

Platelet Transfusion Does Not Improve Outcomes in Brain Injured Patients on Antiplatelet Therapy

Principal Investigator & Contact Information:
Babak Sarani, MD, FACS, FCCM
George Washington University 
bsarani@mfa.gwu.edu

Screening All Trauma Patients for Inter-personal and Sexual Violence

Principal Investigator & Contact Information:
Tanya L. Zakrison, MD, MPH, FRCSC, FACS
Miller School of Medicine 
tzakrison@med.miami.edu
Epub ahead of print / April 2017 Link: http://journals.lww.com/jtrauma/Abstract/publishahead/Universal_Screening_for_Intimate_Partner_and.99121.aspx 

Ileostomy and washout for C. difficile associated disease, effectiveness in the acute phase

Principal Investigators & Contact Information:
Paula Ferrada, MD
Virginia Commonwealth University 
pferrada@mcvh-vcu.edu
 
Rachael Callcut, MD, MSPH, FACS 
UCSF 
callcutr@sfghsurg.ucsf.edu

Epub ahead of print / April 2017

Link: http://journals.lww.com/jtrauma/Abstract/publishahead/Loop_Ileostomy_Vs__Total_Colectomy_As_Surgical.99118.aspx 


Prospective Analysis of Type A Plasma as an Alternative to AB Plasma in Massive Transfusion

Principal Investigator & Contact Information:
Andrew C. Bernard, MD
Univ of Kentucky College of Medicine 
andrew.bernard@uky.edu

Epub ahead of print / April 2017

Link: http://journals.lww.com/jtrauma/Abstract/publishahead/Incompatible_Type_A_Plasma_Transfusion_in_Patients.99092.aspx 

Eastern Association for the Surgery of Trauma

Contact
633 N. Saint Clair Street, Suite 2400 Chicago, IL 60611-3295 (312) 202-5508 phone (312) 202-5064 fax managementoffice@east.org
Stay connected to EAST
Support EAST
  • AmazonSmiel
Donate Now