Completed Studies

Includes studies that have reached completion and have provided EAST information regarding abstract presentation and manuscript acceptance and have corresponded that the study is complete.

All information (e.g. study proposals) are available upon request.


Completed 2019 Studies


SLEEP-TIME (Sedation Level after Emergent Exlap without Primary Fascial Closure—TIME to Closure)

Principal Investigator & Contact Information:

Kaushik Mukherjee MD MSCI FACS

Loma Linda University Medical Center 

KMukherjee@llu.edu


Multi-center Trial Examining Prehospital Procedures in Penetrating Trauma Patients

Principal Investigator & Contact Information:

Sharven Taghavi, MD

Tulane University School of Medicine

staghavi@tulane.edu


Completed 2018 Studies


Wounding Pattern and Medical Interventions in Survivors of Civilian Public Mass Shooting Events

Principal Investigator & Contact Information:

Babak Sarani, MD

George Washington University 

bsarani@mfa.gwu.edu 


Multicenter Prospective Observational Study of Trauma Patients on Antiplatelet Agents

Principal Investigator & Contact Information:

Brian K. Yorkgitis, DO, FACS

University of Florida- Jacksonville

brian.yorkgitis2@jax.ufl.edu


Outcomes in patients with gunshot wounds to the brain

Principal Investigator & Contact Information:

Robert D. Winfield, M.D., FACS

University of Kansas Medical Center 

rwinfield@kumc.edu 

Link


Optimal Management of Traumatic Esophageal Perforation

Principal Investigators & Contact Information:

Lauren Raff, MD

UNC School of Medicine

Lauren_Raff@med.unc.edu 

Patrick L Bosarge, MD

University of Arizona College of Medicine - Phoenix

pbosarge@uabmc.edu 


Colorectal resection in Emergency General Surgery – To anastomose, or not to anastomose?

Principal Investigators & Contact Information:

Brittany O. Aicher, MD

University of Maryland Medical Center

baicher@som.umaryland.edu 

Brandon R. Bruns, MD

Capital Region Health, University of Maryland

bbruns@umm.edu 


Timing and volume of crystalloid and blood products in pediatric trauma: An Eastern Association for the Surgery of Trauma multicenter prospective observational study

Principal Investigators & Contact Information:

Richard A. Falcone, Jr, MD, MPH

Cincinnati Children's Hospital

Richard.Falcone@cchmc.org 

Stephanie Polites MD, MPH & Juan Gurria MD

Mayo Clinic

Polites.Stephanie@mayo.edu 

Journal of Trauma and Acute Care Surgery: July 2020 - Volume 89 - Issue 1 - p 36-42

doi: 10.1097/TA.0000000000002702

Link


Prospective validation of the Emergency Surgery Score in emergency general surgery: An Eastern Association for the Surgery of Trauma multicenter study

Principal Investigator & Contact Information:

Haytham Kaafarani, MD, MPH, FACS 

Massachusetts General Hospital 

hkaafarani@mgh.harvard.edu 

Journal of Trauma and Acute Care Surgery: July 2020 - Volume 89 - Issue 1 - p 118-124

doi: 10.1097/TA.0000000000002658

Link


The Incidence of VTE in Trauma Patients after TXA administration: A Multicenter Retrospective Study

Principal Investigators & Contact Information:

Babak Sarani, MD

George Washington University 

bsarani@mfa.gwu.edu 

Lisbi Rivas, MD

lisbi_rivas15@hotmail.com 


Completed 2017 Studies


Multicenter prospective observational trial of temporary intravascular shunts for trauma

Principal Investigators & Contact Information:

Mark J. Seamon, MD

Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania 

Mark.Seamon@uphs.upenn.edu

Lily Tung, MD

lilyltung@gmail.com


Current Management of Suspected Retained Common Bile Duct Stones in Gallstone Pancreatitis and Choledocholithiasis

Principal Investigator & Contact Information:

Rondi Gelbard, MD

Emory University School of Medicine 

rgelbard@hotmail.com 

2020 Jul;168(1):62-66. doi: 10.1016/j.surg.2020.04.011. Epub 2020 May 26.

Link


Multicenter Study of the Treatment of Appendicitis in America Acute, Perforated, and Gangrenous (MUSTANG), an EAST Multicenter Study

Principal Investigator & Contact Information:

Daniel Dante Yeh, MD

Ryder Trauma Center 

dxy154@med.miami.edu 

Annals of Surgery: October 28, 2019 - Volume Publish Ahead of Print - Issue - p doi: 10.1097/SLA.0000000000003661

Link


Effect of Regional Anesthesia on Delirium in Geriatric Patients After Blunt Thoracic Trauma

Principal Investigators & Contact Information:

Saman Arbabi M.D., M.P.H., F.A.C.S.

Harborview Medical Center 

sarbabi@uw.edu 

Kathleen O'Connell MD

University of Washington

katmo@u.washington.edu 


EAST multicenter trial of simulation-based team training for pediatric trauma: Resuscitation task completion is highly variable during simulated traumatic brain injury resuscitation

Principal Investigators & Contact Information:

Aaron R. Jensen, MD, Med

Children's Hospital Los Angeles 

arjensenmd@gmail.com 

Jensen et al. EAST multicenter trial of simulation based training for pediatric trauma: resuscitation task completion is highly variable during simulated traumatic brain injury resuscitation. Am J Surg 2020. 219(6):1057-64. PMID 31421895.

Link


Infection after penetrating brain injury—An Eastern Association for the Surgery of Trauma multicenter study

Principal Investigators & Contact Information:

Deborah Stein, MD, MPH

R Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Ctr 

dstein@umm.edu 

Laura Harmon, MD

R Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Ctr  

LauraHarmon@umm.edu  

Journal of Trauma and Acute Care Surgery: July 2019 - Volume 87 - Issue 1 - p 61-67

doi: 10.1097/TA.0000000000002327

Link


Completed 2016 Studies


Reducing Routine Phlebotomy in Stable Liver and Splenic Injuries

Principal Investigator & Contact Information:

Jose Prince, MD

jprince@nshs.edu 


Anticoagulation therapy in patients with traumatic brain injury: An Eastern Association for the Surgery of Trauma multicenter prospective study

Principal Investigator & Contact Information:

Kazuhide Matsushima, MD

LAC+USC Medical Center, University of Southern California

kazuhide.matsushima@med.usc.edu

Surgery. 2020 Sep 12;S0039-6060(20)30512-2. doi: 10.1016/j.surg.2020.07.040. Online ahead of print.

Link


Blunt small bowel perforation (SBP): An Eastern Association for the Surgery of Trauma multicenter update 15 years later

Principal Investigators & Contact Information:

Samir M Fakhry M.D. (Senior Investigator)

samfak7@gmail.com 

Ahmed Allawi, MD (Co-Investigator)

Medical University of South Carolina 

allawi@musc.edu 

Journal of Trauma and Acute Care Surgery: April 2019 - Volume 86 - Issue 4 - p 642-650

doi: 10.1097/TA.0000000000002176

Link


EAST multicenter trial on targeted temperature management for hanging-induced cardiac arrest

Principal Investigators & Contact Information:

Deborah Stein, MD (Senior Investigator) & Cindy Hsu, MD, PhD

R Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Ctr 

chsu1012@gmail.com 

Journal of Trauma and Acute Care Surgery: July 2018 - Volume 85 - Issue 1 - p 37-47

doi: 10.1097/TA.0000000000001945

Link


Completed 2015 Studies


Multi-institutional, prospective, observational study comparing the Gastrografin challenge versus standard treatment in adhesive small bowel obstruction

Principal Investigator & Contact Information:

Martin D. Zielinski, MD, FACS

Mayo Clinic 

zielinski.martin@mayo.edu

Journal of Trauma and Acute Care Surgery: July 2017 - Volume 83 - Issue 1 - p 47-54

doi: 10.1097/TA.0000000000001499

Link


Predictors of Retained Hemothorax in Trauma Results of an EAST Multi-Institutional Trial

Principal Investigator & Contact Information:

Jeremy W. Cannon, MD, SM, FACS

Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania

jeremy.cannon@uphs.upenn.edu

Priya S. Prakash, MD (assisting) 

pprakash@surgery.bsd.uchicago.edu

Journal of Trauma and Acute Care Surgery: July 8, 2020 - Volume Publish Ahead of Print - Issue -

doi: 10.1097/TA.0000000000002881

Link


Screening for Harassment, Abuse, and Discrimination among Surgery Residents: An EAST Multicenter Trial

Principal Investigator & Contact Information:

Rondi Gelbard, MD

Emory University School of Medicine 

rgelbar@emory.edu

Fitzgerald CA, Smith RN, Luo-Owen X, et al. Screening for Harassment, Abuse, and Discrimination among Surgery Residents: An EAST Multicenter Trial. Am Surg. 2019;85(5):456-461.

Link


Can acute care surgeonsperform  while fatigued? An EAST multicenter study

Principal Investigator & Contact Information:

Kevin M. Schuster, MD

Yale School of Medicine 

kevin.schuster@yale.edu

Journal of Trauma and Acute Care Surgery: September 2018 - Volume 85 - Issue 3 - p 476-484

doi: 10.1097/TA.0000000000001975

Link


Platelet Transfusion Does Not Improve Outcomes in Brain Injured Patients on Antiplatelet Therapy

Principal Investigator & Contact Information:

Babak Sarani, MD, FACS, FCCM

George Washington University 

bsarani@mfa.gwu.edu

Jeremy L Holzmacher, Cassandra Reynolds, Mayur Patel, Patrick Maluso, Seth Holland, Nathaniel Gamsky, Henry Moore, Elizabeth Acquista, Matthew Carrick, Richard Amdur, Heather Hancock, Michael Metzler, Julie Dunn & Babak Sarani (2018) Platelet transfusion does not improve outcomes in patients with brain injury on antiplatelet therapy, Brain Injury, 32:3, 325-330, DOI: 10.1080/02699052.2018.1425804

Link


Universal screening for intimate partner and sexual violence in trauma patients

An EAST multicenter trial

Principal Investigator & Contact Information:

Tanya L. Zakrison, MD, MPH, FRCSC, FACS

Miller School of Medicine 

tzakrison@med.miami.edu

Journal of Trauma and Acute Care Surgery: July 2017 - Volume 83 - Issue 1 - p 105-110

doi: 10.1097/TA.0000000000001495

Link


Loop ileostomy versus total colectomy as surgical treatment for Clostridium difficileassociated disease An Eastern Association for the Surgery of Trauma multicenter trial

Principal Investigators & Contact Information:

Paula Ferrada, MD

Virginia Commonwealth University 

pferrada@mcvh-vcu.edu

Rachael Callcut, MD, MSPH, FACS 

UCSF 

callcutr@sfghsurg.ucsf.edu

Journal of Trauma and Acute Care Surgery: July 2017 - Volume 83 - Issue 1 - p 36-40

doi: 10.1097/TA.0000000000001498

Link


Incompatible type A plasma transfusion in patients requiring massive transfusion protocol

Outcomes of an Eastern Association for the Surgery of Trauma multicenter study

Principal Investigator & Contact Information:

Andrew C. Bernard, MD

Univ of Kentucky College of Medicine 

andrew.bernard@uky.edu

Journal of Trauma and Acute Care Surgery: July 2017 - Volume 83 - Issue 1 - p 25-29

doi: 10.1097/TA.0000000000001532

Link

Eastern Association for the Surgery of Trauma

Contact
633 N. Saint Clair Street, Suite 2400 Chicago, IL 60611-3295 (312) 202-5508 phone (312) 202-5064 fax managementoffice@east.org
Stay connected to EAST
Support EAST
  • AmazonSmiel
EAST Development Fund