About EAST

Established in 1986, the Eastern Association for the Surgery of Trauma (EAST) is a not for profit 501(c) 3 organization organized to furnish leadership and foster advances in the care of injured patients. EAST affords a forum for the exchange of knowledge pertaining to the care and rehabilitation of the injured patient. Additionally, the organization stimulates investigation and teaching in methods of treating and preventing injury from all causes. EAST is dedicated to the study of the practice of surgery of trauma patients by establishing lectureships, scholarships, and foundations to promote, reward and recognize individuals working in the field of injury and injury control.

EAST has more than 3,600 members who are involved in the acute surgical management of the ill and injured patient. 

Read about EAST's History from Founding Member Howard Champion, MD (EAST President 1991).

Founding Members
Howard R. Champion, MD
Burton H. Harris, MD
Lenworth M. Jacobs, MD
Kimball I. Maull, MD

Founding Board
Raymond Alexander, MD
Andrew Burgess, MD
Howard R. Champion, MD
Thomas Gennarelli, MD
Burton H. Harris, MD
Lenworth M. Jacobs, MD
Kimball I. Maull, MD
Norman E. McSwain, MD 
Michael Rhodes, MD  
C. William Schwab, MD

Charter Members
In 1986, the 10 Founding members decided that EAST would hold an annual scientific meeting, with the first to be held in winter of 1987–1988. Lenworth Jacobs, MD was appointed the organizational point person for developing a list of potential EAST members, who would be sent a letter of invitation signed by all 10 Founding Board members (see figure 3 in the EAST's History document). These became the organization's Charter members. Find their names including those of the Founding Board members below:

Nikhilesh N. Agarwal, MD, FACS
Raymond H. Alexander, MD
Juan A. Asensio, MD, FACS, FCCM, FRCS
Charles E. Bagwell, MD
James E. Barone, MD, FACS, FCCM
John A. Barrett, MD
Willie C. Blair, MD, FACS
Anthony Peter Borzotta, MD
Susan M. Briggs, MD
Robert A. Brigham, MD
L. D. Britt, MD, MPH, FACS
I. William Browder, MD
Timothy G. Buchman, MD
Andrew Burgess, MD
Spencer L. Butterfield, MD
Patricia M. Byers, MD, FACS
Sylvia D. Campbell, MD
Robert P. Carraway, MD
Charles G. Cayten, MD
Howard R. Champion, MD, FRCS, FACS - EAST President (1991)
John R. Clarke, MD
Stephen Cohn, MD
Alasdair K.T. Conn, MD
Donald R. Cooney, MD
Henry (Gill) M. Cryer III, MD, PhD
Paul R. Cunningham, MD, BS, FACS - EAST President (2000)
Brad M. Cushing, MD
Anthony J. Del Rossi, MD
Patrick A. Dietz, MD
C. Michael Dunham, MD, FACS
John R. Edwards, MD
Frank E. Ehrlich, MD
Blaine L. Enderson, MD, MBA - EAST President (2002)
Timothy C. Fabian, MD - EAST President (1998)
William F. Fallon Jr. , MD, MBA - EAST President (1996)
Lewis M. Flint, MD
Timothy C. Flynn, MD
John B. Fortune, MD
Eric R. Frykberg, MD - EAST President (2001)
Michael W.L. Gauderer, MD
Thomas Gennarelli, MD
Robert L. Gerding, MD, FACS
Carol M. Gilbert, MD
Anthony R. Gillott, MD
Geoffrey G. Hallock, MD
William D. Hardin, Jr., MD
Burton H. Harris, MD - EAST President (1989)
James M. Hassett, MD - EAST President (1995)
Michael L. Hawkins, MD
Matthew C. Indeck, MD
Lenworth M. Jacobs Jr., MD, MPH, FACS - EAST President (1990)
David G. Jacobs, MD
G. Edward Jeffries, MD
Robert A. Jubelirer, MD
Donald R. Kauder, MD
Mark C. Lester, MD
Ronald W. Lindsey, MD
Arnold Luterman, MD
Kenneth L. Mattox, MD
Kimball I. Maull, MD, FACS - EAST President (1988)
Charles J. McCabe, MD
Norman E. McSwain Jr., MD, FACS, NREMT-P
Anthony A. Meyer, MD, PhD, FACS
Philip R. Militello, MD
Frank B. Miller, MD
Daniel L. Mollitt, MD
John A. Morris Jr., MD - EAST President (1997)
Robert A. Morrow, MD
Roy A.M. Myers, MD
Henry S. Nelson Jr., MD
Scott H. Norwood, MD
Rocco Orlando III, MD
Janis A. Pastena, MD, MPH, FACS, FACEP
Bikram K. Paul, MD
Richard L. Paulson, MD
Andrew B. Peitzman, MD
William F. Pfeifer III, MD
Randall W. Powell, MD
Max L. Ramenofsky, MD
Ameen I. Ramzy, MD, MBA, FACS
David B. Reath, MD - EAST President (1999)
Hernan M. Reyes, MD
Michael Rhodes, MD, FACS - EAST President (1993)
Barry L. Riemer, MD
George H. Rodman Jr., MD
Aurelio Rodriguez, MD
Steven E. Ross, MD
Thomas A. Russell, MD
Charles J. Scagliotti, MD
C. William Schwab, MD - EAST President (1992)
Steven D. Schwaitzberg, MD
Khaleel A. Shaikh, MD
J. Stanley Smith Jr., MD
Carl A. Soderstrom, MD
Raymond Charles Talucci, MD
John M. Templeton Jr., MD*
Joseph J. Tepas III, MD*
Gregory Alan Timberlake, MD
Charles D. Tischler, MD
Richard C. Treat, MD, FACS, FCCM
Stanley Z. Trooskin, MD, FACS
Carl P. Valenziano, MD, MPA, FACS
Thomas Vargish, MD
Jerome J. Vernick, MD
Mark L. Walker, MD
William C. Welch, MD
David E. Wesson, MD
Thomas V. Whalen, MD, MMM
Warren D. Widmann, MD
Charles E. Wiles III, MD, FACS, FCCM
Joseph C. Young, MD
Roger W. Yurt, MD