Guidelines Committee

The Guideline Committee is responsible for all aspects related to EAST’s role as the premier provider of evidence based guidelines in all fields of clinical acute care surgery (trauma, critical care, emergency general surgery) as well as injury prevention. This committee supervises the creation of new guidelines on topics using the skills and the expertise of members of other sections (i.e. Injury Prevention, Acute Care Surgery) as well as the general EAST membership. It ensures all guidelines are up to date by revising already published guidelines. It coordinates with the EAST website (including mobile web) developers and the National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC) to ensure EAST guidelines are always freely available to all providers.

EAST guidelines are developed using the Grading of Recommendations, Assessment, Development, and Evaluation (GRADE) methodology.  

Membership on the Guidelines Committeen is not required to be an individual guidelines leader, first author, co-author, or team member. There is a separate call for volunteers to assist on specific individual guidelines.

Committee members are appointed by the President with approval by the Board of Directors.  Committee member terms are three years.  All terms begin in January and conclude in January in the year specificed in "term ends".

Guidelines Task Forces
In addition to the core committee, task forces have been established to assist in the development of specific guidelines. Each task force is chaired by a member of the Guidelines Committee.

Content Task Forces
Emergency General Surgery Guidelines Task Force

Injury Prevention Guidelines Task Force
Surgical Critical Care Guidelines Task Force
Trauma Guidelines Task Force

Operational Task Forces
External Guidelines Collaboration Task Force
GRADE Education Task Force
PMG Creation Protocol Task Force
PMG Review and Archiving Task Force
Promulgation and Social Media Task Force



John J. Como, MD, MPHJohn J. Como, MD, MPH, Chair
MetroHealth Medical Center in Cleveland, OH
Term ends 01/16/2021
Nicole Fox, MD, MPH, FACSNicole Fox, MD, MPH, FACS, Committee Vice Chair
Cooper University Hospital in Camden, NJ
Term ends 01/16/2021
Hiba Abdel Aziz, MD, FACSHiba Abdel Aziz, MD, FACS, Committee Member
Hamad General Hospital in ,
Term ends 01/15/2022
Sofya H Asfaw, MDSofya H Asfaw, MD, Committee Member
Cleveland Clinic in ,
Term ends 01/16/2021
Zachary M. Bauman, DO, MHAZachary M. Bauman, DO, MHA, Committee Member
University of Nebraska Medical Center in ,
Term ends 01/16/2021
Marshall Beckman, MD, MAMarshall Beckman, MD, MA, Committee Member
Medical College of Wisconsin in Milwaukee, WI
Term ends 01/18/2020
Vicki J Bennett, RN, MSNVicki J Bennett, RN, MSN, Committee Member
Banner Health in ,
Term ends 01/18/2020
Nikolay Bugaev, MDNikolay Bugaev, MD, Committee Member
Tufts Medical Center in Boston, MA
Term ends 01/15/2022
Alistair J. Chapman, MDAlistair J. Chapman, MD, Committee Member
Michigan State Univ/Spectrum Health/Butterworth in ,
Term ends 01/18/2020
Julius D. Cheng, MD, MPHJulius D. Cheng, MD, MPH, Committee Member
University of Rochester Medical Center in Rochester, NY
Term ends 01/15/2022
William C. Chiu, MD, FACS, FCCMWilliam C. Chiu, MD, FACS, FCCM, Committee Member
University of Maryland School of Medicine in Baltimore, MD
Term ends 01/15/2022
Marie L. Crandall, MD, MPHMarie L. Crandall, MD, MPH, Committee Member
University of Florida Jacksonville in Jacksonville, FL
Term ends 01/16/2021
Douglas R. Fraser, MD, FACSDouglas R. Fraser, MD, FACS, Committee Member
UNLV - School of Medicine in Las Vegas, NV
Term ends 01/18/2020
Shailvi Gupta, MD, MPHShailvi Gupta, MD, MPH, Committee Member
R Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Center in Baltimore, MD
Term ends 01/15/2022
Mark E. Hamill, MD, FACS, FCCMMark E. Hamill, MD, FACS, FCCM, Committee Member
Carilion Clinic in Roanoke, VA
Term ends 01/18/2020
Erik A. Hasenboehler, MDErik A. Hasenboehler, MD, Committee Member
Johns Hopkins Hospital in Lutherville Timonium, MD
Term ends 01/16/2021
George Kasotakis, MD, MPHGeorge Kasotakis, MD, MPH, Committee Member
Duke University Hospital in Durham, NC
Term ends 01/16/2021
Lisa M. Kodadek, MDLisa M. Kodadek, MD, Committee Member
Vanderbilt University Medical Center in Nashville, TN
Term ends 01/16/2021
John Lunde, DNP, ARNP, TNSJohn Lunde, DNP, ARNP, TNS, Committee Member
Orange Park Medical Center in Orange Park, FL
Term ends 01/18/2020
Kaushik Mukherjee, MD MSCI FACSKaushik Mukherjee, MD MSCI FACS, Committee Member
Loma Linda University Medical Center in Loma Linda, CA
Term ends 01/16/2021
Nimitt J. Patel, MDNimitt J. Patel, MD, Committee Member
MetroHealth Medical Center in Cleveland, OH
Term ends 01/16/2021
Kartik Prabhakaran, MDKartik Prabhakaran, MD, Committee Member
Westchester Medical Center/NYMC in Valhalla, NY
Term ends 01/18/2020
Jin Ra, MDJin Ra, MD, Committee Member
University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill in Chapel Hill, NC
Term ends 01/16/2021
Rishi Rattan, MDRishi Rattan, MD, Committee Member
University of Miami/Ryder Trauma Center in Miami, FL
Term ends 01/16/2021
Srinivas H Reddy, MDSrinivas H Reddy, MD, Committee Member
Jacobi Medical Center in Bronx, NY
Term ends 01/15/2022
Sheryl Sahr, MD, MS, FACSSheryl Sahr, MD, MS, FACS, Committee Member
Sanford Health in ,
Term ends 01/16/2021
Jaswin Sawhney, MDJaswin Sawhney, MD, Committee Member
Maine Medical Center in ,
Term ends 01/18/2020
Kaushal H. Shah, MDKaushal H. Shah, MD, Committee Member
Mt. Sinai Hospital in ,
Term ends 01/16/2021
Brian H. Williams, MD, FACSBrian H. Williams, MD, FACS, Committee Member
Univ of Chicago Medicine & Biological Sciences in Chicago, IL
Term ends 01/18/2020
Brian K. Yorkgitis, DO, FACSBrian K. Yorkgitis, DO, FACS, Committee Member
University of Florida- Jacksonville in Jacksonville, FL
Term ends 01/18/2020
Rondi Gelbard, MDRondi Gelbard, MD, Ex Officio
Emory University School of Medicine in Atlanta, GA
Term ends 01/16/2021
Mayur B. Patel, MD, MPH, FACSMayur B. Patel, MD, MPH, FACS, Ex Officio
Vanderbilt University Medical Center in Nashville, TN
Term ends 01/18/2020

Return to rosters

Eastern Association for the Surgery of Trauma

633 N. Saint Clair Street, Suite 2400 Chicago, IL 60611-3295 (312) 202-5508 phone (312) 202-5064 fax
Stay connected to EAST
Support EAST
  • AmazonSmiel
Donate Now