Annual Scientific Assembly Committee

The Annual Scientific Assembly Committee is responsible for the overall format and program content for the EAST Annual Scientific Assembly.  The committee is responsible for reviewing, scoring and selecting clinical abstracts to be presented (oral, quick shot, and video presentations).  The committee is responsible for selecting the recipients of the Raymond H. Alexander, MD Residents’ Paper Competition.  In addition, the committee selects the plenary sessions, workshops, short courses, and any other special programming or sessions added to the meeting program. 

The mission of the Annual Scientific Assembly Committee is to plan, design, and oversee the execution of the top academic scientific meeting for trauma and acute care surgery professionals in the world. This includes ensuring all aspects of the meeting are developed with a focus on the core tenets of the organization: advancing science, fostering relationships, and building careers. As the trauma organization that particularly focuses on development of the “young trauma surgeon/professional”, the Committee should constantly be critically evaluating, revising, and incorporating the most up to date methods and metrics for delivering high quality content and opportunities for all EAST members and non-member attendees.

The Education Division Director is the Chair of the Annual Scientific Assembly Committee. 

Committee members are appointed by the President with approval by the Board of Directors.  Committee member terms are three years.  All terms begin in January and conclude in January in the year specificed in "term ends".


Matthew J. Martin, MD, FACSMatthew J. Martin, MD, FACS, Chair
Scripps Mercy Medical Center in San Diego, CA
Term ends 01/18/2020
Suresh K. Agarwal, Jr., MDSuresh K. Agarwal, Jr., MD, Committee Member
Duke University in Durham, NC
Term ends 01/15/2022
Rachael A. Callcut, MD, MSPH, FACSRachael A. Callcut, MD, MSPH, FACS, Committee Member
UCSF - San Francisco General Hospital in San Francisco, CA
Term ends 01/18/2020
Shannon Marie Foster, MD, FACSShannon Marie Foster, MD, FACS, Committee Member
Reading Trauma Center, Tower Health in Reading, PA
Term ends 01/16/2021
Vanessa P. Ho, MD, MPHVanessa P. Ho, MD, MPH, Committee Member
University Hospitals Case Medical Center in Cleveland, OH
Term ends 01/15/2022
Bellal Joseph, MDBellal Joseph, MD, Committee Member
University of Arizona in Tucson, AZ
Term ends 01/18/2020
Haytham Kaafarani, MD, MPHHaytham Kaafarani, MD, MPH, Committee Member
Massachusetts General Hospital in ,
Term ends 01/15/2022
Matthew E. Lissauer, MDMatthew E. Lissauer, MD, Committee Member
Rutgers-Robert Wood Johnson Medical School in New Brunswick, NJ
Term ends 01/16/2021
Gary T. Marshall, MDGary T. Marshall, MD, Committee Member
in ,
Term ends 01/15/2022
Niels D. Martin, MDNiels D. Martin, MD, Committee Member
University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia, PA
Term ends 01/15/2022
Alicia M. Mohr, MDAlicia M. Mohr, MD, Committee Member
University of Florida in Gainesville, FL
Term ends 01/16/2021
Amy Rushing, MDAmy Rushing, MD, Committee Member
Ohio State University in Columbus, OH
Term ends 01/15/2022
Cynthia Talley, MD, FACSCynthia Talley, MD, FACS, Committee Member
Medical University of South Carolina in Charleston, SC
Term ends 01/16/2021
Ronald B. Tesoriero, MDRonald B. Tesoriero, MD, Committee Member
R Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Center in Baltimore, MD
Term ends 01/18/2020
Mark J. Seamon, MD, FACSMark J. Seamon, MD, FACS, Ex Officio
Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia, PA
Term ends 01/18/2020

Return to rosters

Eastern Association for the Surgery of Trauma

633 N. Saint Clair Street, Suite 2400 Chicago, IL 60611-3295 (312) 202-5508 phone (312) 202-5064 fax
Stay connected to EAST
Support EAST
  • AmazonSmiel
Donate Now