Manuscript and Literature Review Committee

The Manuscript and Literature Review Committee is responsible for approving the form and content of manuscripts submitted to the Annual Scientific Assembly through a pre-review process to assist the authors in preparation of their manuscript to the Journal of Trauma and Acute Care Surgery (JTACS). The committee chair monitors the relationship between the JTACS and EAST.  The committee is responsible for selecting the Best Manuscript that is awarded at the Annual Scientific Assembly.

The Manuscript and Literature Review Committee also produces a monthly literature review that is sent out to all EAST members via email.

Committee members are appointed by the President with approval by the Board of Directors.  Committee member terms are three years.  All terms begin in January and conclude in January in the year specificed in "term ends".


Mark J. Seamon, MD, FACSMark J. Seamon, MD, FACS, Chair
Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia, PA
Term ends 01/18/2020
Gerard A Baltazar, DO FACOSGerard A Baltazar, DO FACOS, Committee Member
St. Barnabas Hospital in Bronx, NY
Term ends 01/19/2019
Bishwajit Bhattacharya, MDBishwajit Bhattacharya, MD, Committee Member
Yale New Haven Hospital in New Haven, CT
Term ends 01/16/2021
Patrick L Bosarge, MDPatrick L Bosarge, MD, Committee Member
University of Alabama at Birmingham in Birmingham, AL
Term ends 01/19/2019
Damien Carter, MDDamien Carter, MD, Committee Member
Maine Medical Center in ,
Term ends 01/18/2020
Julius D. Cheng, MD, MPHJulius D. Cheng, MD, MPH, Committee Member
Univ of Rochester Med Ctr in Rochester, NY
Term ends 01/19/2019
Mathew M. Edavettal, MD, PhD, FACSMathew M. Edavettal, MD, PhD, FACS, Committee Member
Havasu Regional Medical Center in ,
Term ends 01/19/2019
Joseph Farhat, MDJoseph Farhat, MD, Committee Member
North Memorial Medical Center in ,
Term ends 01/18/2020
James M. Feeney, MD, FACSJames M. Feeney, MD, FACS, Committee Member
WMC/ MHRH in ,
Term ends 01/19/2019
Joshua P. Hazelton, DO, FACSJoshua P. Hazelton, DO, FACS, Committee Member
Cooper University Hospital in Camden, NJ
Term ends 01/16/2021
Vanessa P Ho, MD, MPHVanessa P Ho, MD, MPH, Committee Member
University Hospitals Case Medical Center in Cleveland, OH
Term ends 01/19/2019
Parker Hu, MDParker Hu, MD, Committee Member
University of Alabama Birmingham in Birmingham, AL
Term ends 01/16/2021
Uzer Khan, MD, MBBSUzer Khan, MD, MBBS, Committee Member
West Virginia University in ,
Term ends 01/18/2020
Tareq Kheirbek, MD FACSTareq Kheirbek, MD FACS, Committee Member
Brown University in Providence, RI
Term ends 01/19/2019
Anirudh Kohli, MDAnirudh Kohli, MD, Committee Member
Thomas Jefferson University Hospital in Philadelphia, PA
Term ends 01/16/2021
Amy Makley, MDAmy Makley, MD, Committee Member
University of Cincinnati Medical Center in Cincinnati, OH
Term ends 01/19/2019
Jonathan P. Meizoso, MD, MSPHJonathan P. Meizoso, MD, MSPH, Committee Member
University of Miami Miller School of Medicine in Miami, FL
Term ends 01/16/2021
Bryan C. Morse, MS, MDBryan C. Morse, MS, MD, Committee Member
Emory University - Grady Memorial Hospital in Atlanta, GA
Term ends 01/16/2021
Nathan T. Mowery, MDNathan T. Mowery, MD, Committee Member
Wake Forest University Medical School in Winston-Salem, NC
Term ends 01/19/2019
Brian  Myer, MDBrian Myer, MD, Committee Member
in ,
Term ends 01/16/2021
Chaitan Narsule, MDChaitan Narsule, MD, Committee Member
Boston Medical Center in ,
Term ends 01/16/2021
Dylan Nieman, MD PhDDylan Nieman, MD PhD, Committee Member
Rutgers - Robert Wood Johnson Medical School in Rutgers, NJ
Term ends 01/16/2021
Vanessa Nomellini, MD, PhDVanessa Nomellini, MD, PhD, Committee Member
University of Cincinnati in ,
Term ends 01/16/2021
Mayur B. Patel, MD, MPH, FACSMayur B. Patel, MD, MPH, FACS, Committee Member
Vanderbilt University Medical Ctr in Nashville, TN
Term ends 01/19/2019
Alicia R. Privette, MD, FACSAlicia R. Privette, MD, FACS, Committee Member
Medical University of South Carolina in ,
Term ends 01/16/2021
Christine L Ramirez, MDChristine L Ramirez, MD, Committee Member
St. Luke's University Health Network in Bethlehem, PA
Term ends 01/16/2021
Ariel Santos, MD, MPH, FACS, FRCSCAriel Santos, MD, MPH, FACS, FRCSC, Committee Member
Texas Tech University Health Science Center in Lubbock, TX
Term ends 01/19/2019
David J. Skarupa, MD, FACSDavid J. Skarupa, MD, FACS, Committee Member
U of F College of Medicine - Jacksonville in Jacksonville, FL
Term ends 01/19/2019
Duraid Younan, MDDuraid Younan, MD, Committee Member
University of Alabama-Birmingham in Birmingham, AL
Term ends 01/18/2020
Martin D. Zielinski, MD, FACSMartin D. Zielinski, MD, FACS, Committee Member
Mayo Clinic in Rochester, MN
Term ends 01/18/2020

Return to rosters

Eastern Association for the Surgery of Trauma

633 N. Saint Clair Street, Suite 2400 Chicago, IL 60611-3295 (312) 202-5508 phone (312) 202-5064 fax
Stay connected to EAST
Support EAST
  • AmazonSmiel