EAST4ALL Committee - Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion in Trauma Surgery Practice

The Committee will strive to foster leaders who will tackle issues of inequity experienced by medical students, surgical trainees, and trauma surgeons; to advocate for knowledge exchange pertaining to the impact of discrimination on the efficiency of the healthcare system and the wellbeing of our healthcare personnel; to harbor discussions and forums that will stimulate investigation and teaching of the effective methods for promoting equity and inclusion in the workplace and society at large; to encourage tailored mentorships for underrepresented groups that will in turn nurture a sense of community for personal professional growth; to collaborate with our stakeholders to adequately serve our communities to achieve health justice and subsequently better patient care and outcomes; and to engage in lawful activities reasonably related to matters of equity, diversity, and inclusion that may incidentally emerge.

Committee members are appointed by the President with approval by the Board of Directors.  Committee member terms are three years. All terms begin in January and conclude in January in the year specified in "term ends".


Resources & Publications

Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion in Trauma Surgery Practice Resources

#EAST4All: An Introduction to the EAST Equity, Quality, and Inclusion Task Force
Journal of Trauma and Acute Care Surgery: July 2019 - Volume 87 - Issue 1 - p 225–233

Equity on the Frontlines of Trauma Surgery An #EAST4All Roundtable
Journal of Trauma and Acute Care Surgery: January 2021 - Volume 90 - Issue 1 - p 129-136

Eastern Association for the Surgery of Trauma Statement on Structural Racism, and the Deaths of George Floyd, Ahmaud Arbery, and Breonna Taylor
Annals of Surgery: December 2020 - Volume 272 - Issue 6 - p 911-914
doi: 10.1097/SLA.0000000000004430

Annals of Surgery - Promoting Equity and Social Justice in our Workforce and in Surgical Critical Care

The American Surgical Association and the Association of Women Surgeons have excellent resources related to Equity, Quality, and Inclusion and Mentoring. Click here for a summary. 

In Memoriam - Dr. William "Lynn" Weaver passed away on May 26, 2019. Dr. Weaver gave a moving presentation during the EAST4ALL Plenary Session held at the 32nd EAST Annual Scientific Assembly (January 17, 2019).  Read Dr. Kenneth Wilson's tribute to Dr. Weaver. 

Dr. William "Lynn" Weaver



Alexis M. Moren, MD, MPH, FACSAlexis M. Moren, MD, MPH, FACS, Co-chair
Salem Health in ,
Term ends 01/16/2027
Ronnie  N. Mubang, MDRonnie N. Mubang, MD, Co-chair
Vanderbilt University Medical Center in ,
Term ends 01/17/2026
Sahaja Atluri, MDSahaja Atluri, MD, Committee Member
in ,
Term ends 01/18/2025
Rikat  Baroody, MDRikat Baroody, MD, Committee Member
Saint Luke's Hospital of Kansas City in ,
Term ends 01/18/2025
Tatiana Carla Pereira Cardenas, MD, MS, FACSTatiana Carla Pereira Cardenas, MD, MS, FACS, Committee Member
Dell Medical School UT Austin/ Dell Seton Med Cent in ,
Term ends 01/16/2027
Christine A. Castater, MBA, MDChristine A. Castater, MBA, MD, Committee Member
Morehouse School of Medicine/Grady Hospital in ,
Term ends 01/17/2026
Morgan L. Collom, DOMorgan L. Collom, DO, Committee Member
PSG/HCA in ,
Term ends 01/16/2027
Adam D. DeMey, PA-CAdam D. DeMey, PA-C, Committee Member
Inova in ,
Term ends 01/17/2026
Kalli L Devecki, DOKalli L Devecki, DO, Committee Member
ETSU in ,
Term ends 01/16/2027
Molly J. Douglas, MDMolly J. Douglas, MD, Committee Member
University of Arizona in Tucson, AZ
Term ends 01/18/2025
Kelly Galey, MDKelly Galey, MD, Committee Member
in ,
Term ends 01/18/2025
Horacio M. Hojman, MDHoracio M. Hojman, MD, Committee Member
Tufts Medical Center in Boston, MA
Term ends 01/18/2025
Susan Kartiko, MD, PhDSusan Kartiko, MD, PhD, Committee Member
The George Washington University Hospital in ,
Term ends 01/16/2027
Prerna Ladha, MBBSPrerna Ladha, MBBS, Committee Member
MetroHealth Medical Center in ,
Term ends 01/16/2027
Minh-Tri Pham, MDMinh-Tri Pham, MD, Committee Member
Loma Linda University Health in ,
Term ends 01/18/2025
Christine L Ramirez, MDChristine L Ramirez, MD, Committee Member
St. Luke's University Health Network in Bethlehem, PA
Term ends 01/18/2025
Gregory Semon, DOGregory Semon, DO, Committee Member
Wright State University in Dayton, OH
Term ends 01/17/2026
Thomas Shoultz, MDThomas Shoultz, MD, Committee Member
UT Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas, TX
Term ends 01/17/2026
Abhishek Swarup, MDAbhishek Swarup, MD, Committee Member
Brookdale Hospital Medical Center in ,
Term ends 01/16/2027
Luis R. Taveras, MDLuis R. Taveras, MD, Committee Member
Medical City Plano in ,
Term ends 01/17/2026
Carrie Valdez, MDCarrie Valdez, MD, Committee Member
The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center in Columbus, OH
Term ends 01/16/2027
Rachel L. Warner, DO, FACSRachel L. Warner, DO, FACS, Committee Member
University of Florida - Jacksonville in ,
Term ends 01/16/2027
Martin D. Zielinski, MD, FACSMartin D. Zielinski, MD, FACS, Ex Officio
Baylor College of Medicine in Houston, TX
Term ends 01/18/2025

Return to rosters