Burn Surgery Committee

In recent decades, the field of burn care has grown increasingly independent from the broader field of trauma.  First formed as an ad hoc task force was established in January 2019 to help Burn surgeons develop collaborative relationships with their acute surgery colleagues to organize, grow, and/or lead scholarship and fellowship opportunities with their peers. The ad hoc task force was made a full committee in September 2019.

Committee members are appointed by the President with approval by the Board of Directors.  Committee member terms are three years. All terms begin in January and conclude in January in the year specified in "term ends".


Joshua Carson, MD, FACSJoshua Carson, MD, FACS, Co-chair
Loyola University Chicago Burn Center in Maywood, IL
Term ends 01/21/2023
Callie Thompson, MD, FACSCallie Thompson, MD, FACS, Co-chair
University of Utah Health in Salt Lake City, UT
Term ends 01/21/2023
Robel Beyene, MDRobel Beyene, MD, Committee Member
Vanderbilt University Medical Center in Nashville, TN
Term ends 01/21/2023
Charles C. Butts, MDCharles C. Butts, MD, Committee Member
University of South Alabama in ,
Term ends 01/14/2023
Damien Carter, MDDamien Carter, MD, Committee Member
Maine Medical Center in ,
Term ends 01/21/2023
Jeffrey E. Carter, MDJeffrey E. Carter, MD, Committee Member
University Medical Center New Orleans in New Orleans, LA
Term ends 01/21/2023
Theresa L Chin, MD, MPHTheresa L Chin, MD, MPH, Committee Member
UC Irvine Medical Center in ,
Term ends 01/18/2025
Mack D. Drake, DO, FACSMack D. Drake, DO, FACS, Committee Member
VCU Health Evans-Haynes Burn Center in ,
Term ends 01/21/2023
John A. Harvin, MDJohn A. Harvin, MD, Committee Member
McGovern Medical School at UT Health in Houston, TX
Term ends 01/21/2023
Sara Higginson, MDSara Higginson, MD, Committee Member
UC San Diego Health in ,
Term ends 01/21/2023
Arpana Jain, MDArpana Jain, MD, Committee Member
Arizona Burn Center in Phoenix, AZ
Term ends 01/21/2023
Laura S. Johnson, MD, FACSLaura S. Johnson, MD, FACS, Committee Member
Washington Hospital Center in Washington, DC
Term ends 01/21/2023
Anjay Khandelwal, MDAnjay Khandelwal, MD, Committee Member
Akron Children's Hospital Burn Center in Akron, OH
Term ends 01/21/2023
Casey L. Kohler, MDCasey L. Kohler, MD, Committee Member
MetroHealth Medical Center in ,
Term ends 01/13/2024
John C Kubasiak, MDJohn C Kubasiak, MD, Committee Member
Loyola University Medical Center in ,
Term ends 01/21/2023
Monty R Littlejohn, MDMonty R Littlejohn, MD, Committee Member
Geisinger in ,
Term ends 01/13/2024
Patrick M. McCarthy, MDPatrick M. McCarthy, MD, Committee Member
Brooke Army Medical Center in ,
Term ends 01/13/2024
M. Victoria P. Miles, EMT-P, MDM. Victoria P. Miles, EMT-P, MD, Committee Member
University of TN College of Medicine, Chattanooga in ,
Term ends 01/13/2024
Lauren Nosanov, MDLauren Nosanov, MD, Committee Member
Weill Cornell Medicine in ,
Term ends 01/18/2025
Shawn Tejiram, MDShawn Tejiram, MD, Committee Member
in ,
Term ends 01/13/2024
Taryn Elise Travis, MD, FACSTaryn Elise Travis, MD, FACS, Committee Member
Medstar Washington Hospital Center in ,
Term ends 01/13/2024
Steven E. Wolf, MDSteven E. Wolf, MD, Committee Member
University of Texas - Medical Branch at Galveston in Galveston, TX
Term ends 01/21/2023
D. Dante   Yeh, MD, MHPE, FACS, FCCM, FASPEND. Dante Yeh, MD, MHPE, FACS, FCCM, FASPEN, Ex Officio
Ryder Trauma Center in Miami, FL
Term ends 01/21/2023

Return to rosters