« Back to guidelines under development

Prehospital Procedures in Penetrating Urban Trauma2021

Type: New Practice Management Guideline (PMG)
Category: Trauma
Committee Liaison: Jennifer J. Freeman, MD


Team leader(s)

Statement:
Pre-hospital procedures (intubation, cervical collars, IV fluids) by emergency medical services (EMS) are performed regularly in penetrating trauma patients, despite numerous studies demonstrating no benefit. Immediate transportation of penetrating trauma patients in urban locations, where transport to trauma center is not prolonged, results in improved outcomes. A formal EAST PMG recommending the optimal prehospital care of these patients will give trauma surgeons, emergency physicians, and EMS professionals the data-driven support needed to change practice and policies of local EMS and improve outcomes among penetrating trauma patients in urban locations.

I will work with Dr. Elliot Haut, the EAST PMG committee, and a number of coauthors from my recent EAST MCT trial (results to be presented at this EAST Annual Scientific Assembly) to develop a comprehensive PMG.

Team members:
• Elliott R. Haut, MD, PhD, FACS (ehaut1@jhmi.edu)
• Danielle Tatum, Ph.D. (tatum1028@gmail.com)
• Amy Goldberg (amy.goldberg@tuhs.temple.edu)
• Zoe Maher (zoe.maher@tuhs.temple.edu)
• Leah Tatebe (leah.tatebe@cookcountyhhs.org)
• Ali Raja (araja@mgh.harvard.edu)
• Matthew Levy (levy@jhmi.edu)
• Mark Seamon (Mark.Seamon@pennmedicine.upenn.edu)
• Christina Jacovides (Christina.Jacovides@Pennmedicine.upenn.edu)
• Grace Chang (gchang55@gmail.com)


« Back to guidelines under development